Snow Day Doughnuts

CinnamonRollDonutsI’m a midwest girl at heart. I love farms, snow, wide open spaces, snow, ATVs and…did I say snow? 🙂 I’ve lived in Tennessee for almost 12 years now and although it is a beautiful state with a seemingly endless amount of things to do and places to see, the lack of snow is a bit heartbreaking to me. My childhood winters were spent anxiously waking up, running to the window and looking out with wide-eyed excitement at the heaping piles of snow that magically appeared overnight. When school was cancelled, those days were spent enjoying a hot and hearty breakfast (usually my mom’s pancakes or waffles) with a fire in the fireplace before piling on every piece of snow gear possible so there was no need to come inside for the rest of the day unless absolutely necessary.

Yesterday we finally had a “southern snow day”. I honestly should have taken a picture. The whole city was shut-down and yet there wasn’t even enough snow to cover the grass (granted, there was quite a bit of ice). My snow-obsessed heart didn’t even mind. I’ll take what I can get, in any quantity possible :). Even though I work from home and a snow-day doesn’t affect me, I still took it as an opportunity to celebrate and do a little baking. If my nieces and nephew were here, pancakes or waffles would have certainly been in order, but with just my roommate and myself, I decided to just whip up a small batch of grain-free doughnuts.

Cinnamon Roll Doughnuts (adapted from Simple Roots)

  • 1 1/4 cup Honeyville Almond Flour
  • 1/4 t. salt
  • 1/4 t. baking soda
  • 1 t. nutmeg
  • 1 1/2 t. cinnamon
  • 1/4 t. ground cloves
  • 3 eggs
  • 1/4 c. coconut oil, melted
  • 2 T. honey
  • 1/2 t. pure vanilla extract

Glaze

  • 1/2 c. honey
  • 3 T. coconut butter
  • 1/2 vanilla bean or 1/2 t. pure vanilla extract

Preheat oven to 350. Grease donut pan and set aside. Place a sheet of wax paper under a wire cooling rack.

In a medium bowl, combine almond flour, salt, soda, nutmeg, cinnamon and cloves. In a small bowl, whisk together eggs, coconut oil, honey and vanilla. Pour egg mixture into the dry mixture and stir until thoroughly combined. Drop by spoonfulls into donut pan, filling 2/3 full. Bake for 10 minutes. Remove from oven and flip donuts onto wire rack to cool. (Should make approx. 6-8 donuts)

In a small skillet, add 1/2 cup honey and bring to low boil and simmer, stirring frequently, until it becomes a dark amber color. Remove from heat, add coconut cream and vanilla bean or extract and stir until a thick caramel consistency is formed. Dip donuts into glaze, twisting it as you lift it out to release any excess glaze. Place glaze-up on cooling rack and sprinkle with coconut, cinnamon & coconut sugar, chopped pecans or any desired topping. Enjoy!

