Grain-Free Ham & Swiss Quiche

QuicheThe other day I met up with a friend of mine for coffee at a local downtown bakery. I remembered having a great quiche the last time I visited, so I ordered it again and I was not disappointed!  It reminded me of a quick and easy quiche I used to make, so I thought I’d pull the recipe out and give try to modify it to fit my grain-free lifestyle. I don’t know about you, but as much as I love the egg/meat/veggie portion of the quiche, half of its glory is in the flaky, buttery pie crust! So although there are many healthy alternatives that are “crustless”, I decided to put together a grain-free version – crust included.

I will say, if I were to make this again, I would maybe spread out the crust a bit more (or potentially try to half it and see if that would be enough for two crusts? I don’t think it’s quite that large of a batch). As you can see in the image, it’s a bit thick, and although it’s not “buttery” or “flaky”, it complements this quiche really well.

Enjoy!

Grain Free Ham & Swiss Quiche

Crust:

  • 3/4 c. coconut flour
  • 1/2 c. toasted pecan halves
  • 1/2 c. coconut oil
  • 1-2 T. honey
  • 1/4 t. sea salt
  • 3 eggs

Spread pecan halves out on a cookie sheet and toast in a 350-degree oven for 7 minutes.  Combine everything except for the eggs in a food processor and blend until pecan halves are finely ground. Add in eggs until the mixture resembles dough.  Spread evenly in a deep dish 9″ pie plate. Set aside.

Egg Mixture:

  • 1 c. evaporated milk (fat-free works great as does regular)
  • 4 eggs
  • 2 T. coconut flour
  • 1/4 t. nutmeg (do not omit! This is the “secret ingredient” :))
  • 1/4 t. sea salt
  • 1/4 t. pepper
  • 4 oz. swiss cheese, diced
  • 8 oz. diced ham

Whisk together all ingredients and pour into prepared piecrust. Cover the edge of the crust as it cooks quickly (I use a pie crust shield). Bake at 350 for 30-40 minutes or until set. Makes 6-8 servings depending on size.

