Slow-Cooker Spaghetti & Meatballs

Spaghetti

 

I’m a huge advocate of throw-n-go recipes.  That’s definitely more of a challenge when living a grain-free lifestyle since you really don’t have the option to use prepackaged items.  As I’ve mentioned before, I’m not a purist when it comes to the SCD lifestyle, so I make use of some organic canned items (although I still check the ingredients list carefully).  This spaghetti sauce is so incredibly easy to throw together since it really is just a “dump and go” recipe, so if you don’t want to take the time to make the meatballs, just thrown in some browned ground turkey and you’re all set!  However, I think the meatballs are kind of amazing myself, so I just make the meat mixture ahead and time (sometimes doubling the recipe), roll them into balls and freeze them.  That way, my spaghetti and meatballs is still a quick and easy recipe when I need it!

 

Slow-Cooker Spaghetti & Meatballs

  • 1/2 cup frozen chopped onion (or 1 small yellow onion, chopped)
  • 2 teaspoons minced garlic
  • 1 (12-ounce) can of organic tomato sauce
  • 1 (28-ounce) can organic crushed tomatoes
  • 1 can of tomato paste
  • 1 teaspoon dried parsley
  • 1 teaspoon dried basil
  • 1 teaspoon sea salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper
  • 1/4 teaspoon crushed red pepper or red pepper flakes (optional if you like things on the spicy side like I do)

Dump all of the ingredients into your slow-cooker and stir.

Turkey Meatballs

  • 1 pound ground turkey
  • 1 pound ground turkey sausage*
  • 2 eggs
  • 1/4 cup ground almond meal
  • 1/2 red onion finely chopped
  • 2 large garlic cloves grated
  • 1/2 teaspoon oregano
  • 1/2 teaspoon cumin
  • 1/2 teaspoon Italian seasoning
  • salt, pepper

*I make my own turkey sausage (see recipe below), but you can substitute hot italian sausage here if you’re okay with pork.

Combine all ingredients and shape into balls (remember they will shrink while cooking, so I would err on the side of being a little big).  Lightly place on top of the spaghetti sauce in the slow-cooker (push down slightly). If this makes more meatballs than you would prefer, you can always freeze them and use for later.

Turn slow-cooker on low and cook for 8 hours or high and cook for 4-6 hours. Serve over roasted spaghetti squash and enjoy!!

*Turkey Sausage

  • 1 pound ground turkey
  • 1 teaspoon kosher salt
  • 3/4 teaspoons ground black pepper
  • 3/4 teaspoons ground sage
  • 3/4 teaspoons ground thyme
  • 1/4 teaspoon dried marjoram
  • 1/4 teaspoon red pepper flakes

Combine ingredients thoroughly using your hands. If making ahead and freezing for later, shape into a fat tube and seal with plastic wrap. Place in a ziplock and freeze for later.

