Almond Butter Chocolate Chip Cookies

Image

 

Have you ever had Flourless Peanut Butter Cookies?  It’s one of my favorite peanut butter cookie versions mostly because there are less ingredients competing with that delicious peanut butter flavor.  Well, these days I steer clear of peanut butter most often and have replaced it with almond butter instead.  Last night I was craving some chocolate chip cookies and thought – if you can make flourless peanut butter, why not flourless almond butter?  It was a gamble as to whether they would turn out, but I figured even if they were a total fail baking-wise, the remnants would still taste pretty good :).  I was so excited when I pulled these babies from the oven and they looked just like any other chocolate chip cookie, and I was even MORE excited when I bit into one and it had the consistency of a soft-baked chocolate chip cookie.  I’m pretty confident if you like almond butter, you will not be disappointed!  Give it a try!

 

Almond Butter Chocolate Chip Cookies

1c. almond butter

1/4 c. honey

1 egg

1/2 t. baking soda

pinch of sea salt

Dark chocolate chips

Preheat oven to 350 and line cookie sheet with tinfoil (I think parchment would work as well, but since I used tinfoil, I can’t guarantee it. If you try it, let me know).  In a small bowl, mix almond butter, honey, egg, baking soda and sea salt until well combined (I just used a spoon and got a nice arm workout :), but I’m sure a mixer would work great).  Add chocolate chips. Measure out each cookie using a tablespoon. Work into a small ball and then flatten onto cookie sheet.  Keep them moderately apart, but don’t worry too much, they don’t spread as much as it seems like they would.  Bake 8 minutes or until they are puffy, cracked and lightly golden brown. Remove from oven and let cool from another 10 minutes before transferring them onto a cooling rack. Enjoy!

