Black Brownies

BlackBeanBrowniesWebIt can be said of most anything in life that “moderation is key”, and although I wish that didn’t include chocolate, it’s probably pretty close to the top of the list :).  I savor every morsel of my allotted 1 oz. of dark chocolate every day, but sometimes you want something a little more “decadent” – i.e. BROWNIES!

Now Black Bean Brownies are not a new idea, but I’ve never had them 1. without any sugar/flour in them, or 2. where they tasted all that appealing to me.  I’ve made grain free brownies using a jar of almond butter (which, no joke, is seriously delicious!), but when it comes to calories…that’s a hefty amount for a “healthy brownie”.  Plus, I love getting a vegetable of sorts (legume to be specific) in the form of a brownie.  These would not be considered paleo-legal due to the black beans and not scd-legal due to the cocoa powder, but I live life on the edge and like to make my own rules sometimes. Like I said, everything in moderation, right? 🙂

Black Brownies:

1 (15 oz) can no-salt-added black beans, drained and rinsed

3 large eggs

1/3 c. melted coconut oil

1/4 c. unsweetened cocoa powder

2 t. vanilla

1/3 c. honey (local is best – or agave nectar if you prefer that)

1/4 c. finely chopped pecans

handful of dark chocolate chips

1 packet stevia

Preheat oven to 350. Spray 8×8 baking dish with coconut oil spray and set aside.  Combine beans, eggs, coconut oil, cocoa powder, vanilla and honey in a food processor (a heavy-duty blender would probably work as well) and let it run until beans are completely pureed and all ingredients are completely mixed together.  Pour into prepared baking dish.  Sprinkle with chopped pecans and desired amount of dark chocolate chips. Bake for 30-35 minutes or until set in the center. As soon as you remove it from the oven, sprinkle 1 packet of stevia evenly over top of the brownies (this may not be necessary to some, but I like my brownies really sweet, so I prefer this little extra addition).  Allow to cool and store in the fridge!  Enjoy!!

