Fruit Pizza

So I’m just a few months behind in posting…just a few :).  I’ve got several recipes that are ready to post, so hopefully this is the start of me catching up!

This past weekend was Mother’s Day, so I headed home to spend some time with my family.  My mom had said that she would prefer to stay home rather than fight the crowds on Sunday, so I offered to cook dinner for her.  I’d actually been thinking about making her a special dessert (let’s be honest, sweets are my favorite :)) and wanted to make it healthy as well, so I’d started sketching out an idea for a fruit pizza a few weeks before.

I made almond flour sugar cookies around Christmas time that turned out great, so I started with that as my base.  If I was being really good, I would have worked with a cashew cream option for the topping, but I’m not entirely opposed to cream cheese when there’s not a ton of sugar being added to it, so I decided to just make a honey cream cheese topping instead.  After that it was just a matter of fruit choices, so I added some crushed pineapple on top of the cream cheese topping and finished it out with sliced strawberries, fresh kiwi, blueberries and bananas.

I honestly had low expectations for the outcome of this recipe – not because I thought it would taste bad, but when the original uses sugar cookie dough (loaded with sugar, butter and flour) and a cream cheese frosting using 1/2 c. of sugar, I expected it to be much less sweet. Boy, was I wrong!  I honestly think this tasted just as good as the “real deal”, if not better, and is definitely going in my folder of “entertaining recipes”.  I hope you enjoy it just as much!

FruitPizzaSlice

Grain Free Fruit Pizza

  • 2½ c. blanched almond flour (I use Honeyville)
  • ¼ c. honey (or agave or sweetener of choice. I prefer locally grown honey)
  • 1 egg
  • 2 t. coconut oil
  • ½ t. vanilla
  • ½ t. baking soda
  • pinch of sea salt

Place all of the ingredients in a food processor and blend until completely combined.  Spray a 12″ round pizza pan with coconut oil spray. Spread dough evenly to edge of pan (I put a little coconut oil on my hands to help it to not stick) and bake at 350 for 8 minutes (or until lightly golden brown and puffy).  Set aside and cool completely.

Honey Cream Cheese Topping

  • 1 8oz. pkg cream cheese (I used Trader Joe’s Lite Cream Cheese)
  • 1/2 c. butter (organic or kerrygold irish), softened
  • ¼ c. honey (or agave or sweetener of choice. Again, I prefer locally grown honey)

Whisk all ingredients in a medium bowl until smooth. Spread evenly over cooled sugar cookie crust.

Fruit Toppings

I like to start with 1 small can of crushed pineapple (drained) – spreading that evenly across the top of the cream cheese topping.  From there, go crazy! Grapes, strawberries, mandarin orange, blueberries, blackberries, raspberries, kiwi, bananas…the possibilities are endless.  I typically wait to put the fruit on until an hour or so before I serve it mostly because I love to use bananas and don’t want them to turn brown.  Depending on the fruit you’re using, you may be able to do it well in advance and just keep it refrigerated – just use your best judgement, and most of all, ENJOY!

