My Fave Dressing

SuperSaladSetupI love a good salad, but I love a good salad dressing even more.  It’s the hot fudge on the ice cream, the syrup on the pancakes, the ketchup on the french fries…you get my drift.  One without the other just isn’t quite as exciting.  The problem is, most dressings are loaded with sugar and are oftentimes just as unhealthy as eating the hot fudge sundae.  Not this puppy.  This stuff is gooooood, and I mean that on all levels.

What’s even better is that this dressing will work on a multitude of salads.  If you want to make the salad I’ve pictured (which I HIGHLY recommend), you’ll need a combination of salad greens, grilled chicken (which I marinated in the salad dressing before grillin’ up on my george foreman), gorgonzola cheese (or bleu, feta, goat…go crazy), dried (unsweetened) cherries, grapes, pears and most definitely a handful of these no-sugar candy coated pecans.

And now, the dressing…

Herb Vinaigrette

1/3 c. sherry vinegar

1-2 T. honey (start with 1 and add more if you need it)

1 clove minced garlic

1 t. dried basil

1 t. dried oregano

1/4 t. sea salt

1 t. freshly ground pepper

1/8-1/4 t. nutmeg (start with 1/8 and add more to taste)

1/2 c. extra virgin olive oil

Put all of the ingredients (except the olive oil) in a food processor and blend until smooth.  While still running, slowly add in the extra virgin olive oil until well combined.  Try it out and see if you want to add more honey, nutmeg or any other spices.  Pour into a glass jar or dressing bottle and store in the fridge.  Enjoy!!

