Brussewhaaat?

Chicken Bacon Brussels SproutsI gotta be honest – I’ve never been totally against brussels sprouts. They were certainly never in my top 10 vegetable list, but I  never thought they were as bad as people made them out to be. Peas, on the other hand (canned peas in particular) …nasty. I think the key to any good vegetable is how it’s prepared – and when it’s done poorly, it tastes just as bad. I know someone who hated broccoli for years because her mother steamed it until it was olive green and pretty well mushy. It wasn’t until she was an adult that she had perfectly prepared broccoli and became a huge fan.

I feel like this is the opportunity to redeem the chance for brussels sprouts in your future. I would almost go as far to say that if you don’t like them this way – you have permission to just move on and never eat them again. I know there are many more amazing ways to cook them, so I’m certainly not saying this is the best, but it’s pretty dang delicious. I look forward to it so much that I even contemplated eating it for breakfast. No joke.

Chicken Bacon Ranch Brussels Sprouts*

1 apple chicken sausage sliced into 1/2″ pieces (I used this brand, but there are many great varieties at Whole Foods)

1-2 slices of bacon cut into 1″ pieces (I prefer the Gwaltney brand because the green pack has no added sugar)

1 c. fresh brussel sprouts cut into quarters and then “peeled” apart a little bit (I just prefer smaller bites)

2-3 T. ranch dressing (I recommend an oil-based ranch such as Tessemae‘s – an SCD/paleo-friendly ranch dressing that works great)

1 clove minced garlic

salt & pepper to taste

I know my ingredients will seem out of order in the following directions, but I wrote it out that way because I find it very helpful to have everything cut/prepped before beginning the cooking part since it moves along pretty quickly.

In a small saucepan over medium-high heat, add ranch dressing and minced garlic.  Once it just begins to bubble, add in brussels sprouts and stir until well coated.  Allow the mixture to brown a little bit before adding 1 T. water, turning the heat down to low and covering.  As you are working on the next step, check on your brussels sprouts every so often and stir them around.

Meanwhile, heat a separate medium saucepan to medium-high and add bacon.  Once it begins to cook and has created a little “oil” in the pan, add in sliced chicken sausage.  turn heat down to medium and continue stirring until sausage is browned on both sides and bacon is crispy (or however you prefer your bacon).  Remove from heat.

By now your brussels sprouts should be ready to go (you’ll know they are if you can easily poke them with a fork).  Add some salt & pepper to taste and toss onto a bowl or plate.  Add chicken & bacon mixture and ENJOY!!  Try not to lick your plate :).

*I originally found this recipe on PaleOMG.  Seriously go check her site out – TONS of great recipes!


