Candy Coated Pecans

CandyCoatedPecansThese are like crack. I mean, not that I’ve ever tried crack, but I hear it’s super addictive, therefore these must be like crack. Soo sooo good.  What’s even more shocking is that they taste just as great as something made with loads of sugar, but instead they’re made from egg whites and honey! CRAZY!

“Candy” Coated Pecans

6 c. pecans

4 egg whites

1/2 c. honey

1/2 t. sea salt

1/2 t. cinnamon

Preheat oven to 200.  Beat egg whites until stiff peaks form.  Carefully whisk in honey, salt and cinnamon.  Fold in pecans until fully coated.  They will look very white and odd…but trust me, they’re going to be SO GOOD.  Cover a baking sheet in parchment paper and spread pecans on pan in a single layer (as best as you can).  Bake for 3-4 hours (VERY important…I shortened the time once and they were not as crispy), stirring once every hour.  Allow to cool before removing from parchment.  Store in an air-tight container.

