Fauxfredo

FauxfredoMy parents have recently converted to Paleo and although I eat a little differently with SCD, everything I make is pretty close to Paleo or can be easily modified (there are some things I can’t have that Paleo allows and vice versa).  They came for a quick visit this last weekend, so I decided to whip up a one-pot-meal for dinner.

A few weeks ago I had boiled some organic chicken breasts and shredded them in my Bosch Universal Plus (My dream kitchen appliance. Seriously the most amazing machine ever.).  I keep a stash in the freezer at all times because I’ve found that I don’t really like reheated chicken that’s been “cubed” in a stove-top recipe or even baked.  It tends to have a funky rubbery texture when reheated and I just can’t deal with it.  Shredded, on the other hand, reheats perfectly, so that’s become my personal preference and what I keep on hand.  I highly recommend this if you’re not opposed to shredded chicken because it cuts down significantly on prep time (and who couldn’t use that?)!

I’m a huge fan of Italian food – especially if it includes sundried tomatoes, so I just used a recipe I’d tried previously to create my sauce and included the toppings I liked!  Here’s what I ended up with:

Sundried Tomato & Broccoli Fauxfredo

spaghetti squash, 1 medium

1 can (14 oz.) lite coconut milk (I use Trader Joe’s brand)

1 tsp sea salt

2 tsp pepper

1/2 tsp garlic powder

1/2 tsp onion powder

1 tbsp and 1 tsp arrowroot powder

1 16 oz. pkg organic broccoli florets (I also purchase this at Trader Joe’s. Any kind of broccoli will be fine – this is just easiest)

1 T. coconut oil

1 pkg of Trader Joe’s chopped onions, shallots & garlic (this is ideal because the prep is taken out, but if you don’t have access to TJ’s, just chop up shallots, a small onion, and about 5 garlic cloves)

1-2 c. shredded chicken

1 pkg. Trader Joe’s sundried tomatoes (or any brand that is NOT in liquid)

1 tsp lemon juice

1/2-1 c. parmesan cheese

Preheat oven to 375.  Wash & dry spaghetti squash. Cut in half length-wise and scoop out seeds.  Place squash halves on tinfoil lined cookie sheet open-face up and drizzle with olive oil.  Bake for 30-40 minutes.  Remove from oven and let cool slightly before separating strands by running a fork from stem to stern.

In a small bowl whisk coconut milk, salt, pepper, garlic powder, onion powder and arrowroot powder until arrowroot powder is fully combined (no lumps). Set aside.

Steam broccoli florets (I use a steamer on the stove, but you could do it in the microwave – whatever you prefer).

In a large skillet, melt coconut oil on medium heat.  Add onion-garlic-shallot mix and saute until golden-brown.  Add in chicken and coconut milk mixture, continuing to stir until it starts to simmer.  Turn heat to low.  Add in sundried tomatoes, steamed broccoli, lemon juice and parmesan cheese.  Stir until combined and heated through.

Serve over spaghetti squash. Enjoy!!

