Comfort Food

I know comfort foods are probably different for every individual, but typically that category of food revolves around a lot of starches and grains.  The bad news is, you need to seek “comfort” elsewhere, the good news is – I know just where you can find it!

I actually made this recipe a month or so ago and since it made 2 pies, I ate one and put the other in the freezer.  I’m not cooking for a family, but I still love recipes that give me that option since, as many of you know, eating a strict and healthy diet requires prep and planning in order to succeed.  Plus, most recipes are not cost-effective to make “dinner for one”, so my deep freeze has become one of my “must have” items in the SCD way of eating.

This recipe may look daunting just by the length of it, but I promise it’s easier than it looks.  I like to break it up a bit, so I cook/shred the chicken and chop all of the vegetables the night before so that there’s less prep involved (which is typically the most time-consuming) when my stomach is growling :).

I’ll let you be the judge, but personally I think this is just as good as the real thing and a perfect one-dish-comfort-meal for a cold winter’s night.  In fact, I’m thinking I’m about ready to pull that extra pie out of the freezer…

Grain-Free Chicken Pot Pie

Prep:
Cook and shred/chop 3 cups of chicken (1 to 1 1/2 lbs. of chicken)

1/2 c. diced onion (chop the whole thing and freeze the other half…handy for recipes later on)
1-2 c. of chopped carrots
1-2 c. of chopped celery
2 cloves of minced garlic
Drizzle skillet with a little oil (I prefer coconut) and saute for about 8-10 minutes or until carrots are slightly tender (it will finish the cooking process in the oven)

Combine vegetables and chicken.

Divide in half between two pie dishes (8″ or 9″ will work fine).

In a blender or food processor combine:
1/2 c. coconut milk (I use Trader Joe’s brand)
2 c. chicken broth (I use either homemade or Pacific North brand)
1/2 c. plain cashews
1/2 t. Herbamare (a more organic version of poultry seasoning…a must have in your spice rack)

Divide coconut milk mixture over the two pie plates.

In a separate bowl, use an electric mixer to combine ingredients to make your Pie Crust:
1/4 c. plain applesauce (with no added sugar)
1 1/2 T. apple cider vinegar
1/2 c. melted coconut oil
2 eggs (or egg alternative)
2 T. water

Mix.

Add in:
1 1/4 c. almond flour (I used Honeyville blanched almond flour, but I think almond meal would work well too)
3/4 c. coconut flour
2 1/2 t. baking soda
1 t. dried oregano
1 t. onion powder

Mix.

Crumble mixture equally over the top of both pies.  (At this point I went ahead and put tinfoil over the top of one pie and put it in the deep freeze, but you can decide if you’d rather bake it before freezing).  Bake at 325 degrees for 25-30 minutes or until golden brown on top.  ENJOY!!!

