What’s the soup de jour?

“It’s the soup of the day.”

“Mmm, that sounds good. I’ll have that.”

Oh Dumb & Dumber. Such a classic movie.

The leaves are starting to disappear, the weather is getting cooler and I gotta be honest, I start to become a “giddy with anticipation” kinda girl – always hoping snow might be just around the corner. With cold weather comes all sorts of comfort food cravings, and one of those for me is soup. I have so many fantastic recipes for soup – a great “throw and go” crockpot taco soup, spicy 2×4, cheesy enchilada, broccoli cheese, chili and more. I’m pretty sure all of those are now going to need a makeover to fit within my new lifestyle, but today I’ll share a delicious SCD-friendly version of Tomato Basil that will not disappoint!  I can’t take all the credit for this one.  The original recipes comes from More Fruit Please, but I made a few tweaks to make it completely SCD legal.


1 tsp olive oil
1 yellow onion, chopped
2 cloves of garlic, chopped
2 28-oz. cans of organic diced tomatoes (I used Whole Foods’ Organic brand…no unnatural ingredients or sugar added)
2 cups of vegetable broth (I used Pacific Natural Food Organic vegetable broth)
1/2 cup basil, chopped, loosely packed
2 tsp of oregano
1 tsp honey (or more to taste)
salt and pepper to taste
1 cup of homemade yogurt (this is really beneficial for your health…but that’s another post. For those not following SCD, you could use any kind of plain yogurt…although greek would be best)
1 cup cheddar cheese, grated (I used Whole Foods organic shredded cheddar)

In a large saucepan, heat your olive oil over medium heat and begin to cook chopped onions and chopped garlic until onions begin to reach the transparent stage (4-5 minutes).  Pour in the cans of diced tomatoes (juice and all), vegetable broth. chopped basil, oregano, honey, salt and pepper.  Cover and let simmer for 10 minutes.  Get your immersion blender ready (this is one of my “must have” items when it comes to making soups.  You can purchase them for relatively cheap at Walmart or with coupons at Kohls).  Add in the yogurt and cheddar cheese and blend away.  That thing is pretty powerful so make sure to keep it completely covered with liquid and let it puree away!  It chops up the tomatoes, basil and onions to make a perfectly combined soup.  Top with a little cheddar and fresh basil and you’re all set! Enjoy!

If you’re anything like my previously carb-addicted-self , soup is usually combined with some sort of warm bread whether it be breadsticks, cornbread, a glorious grilled cheese sandwich or even peanut butter (with chili…oh yeah, don’t knock it ’til you try it!), but that typically doesn’t pair so well with a grain-free lifestyle.  That was not about to stop me from getting my fix!  I made some amazing grain-free biscuits (not Barbara’s Home Cookin’ amazing, but in the world of grain-free…not too shabby!)…but you’ll just have to come back to find out how I made them! Stay tuned!

