Butternut Squash Hash

I was born and raised in Iowa, so that also means I was born and raised on meat & potatoes.  Well, not entirely.  My parents were very healthy eaters (my childhood started out with carob chips, fruit leather and homemade granola), but my grandparents were both farmers, so a typical Sunday dinner was never lacking meat, potatoes or a large stack of bread on a plate (that one was always a bit odd to me).  While meat is still very much a staple of my new “eating lifestyle”, potatoes, unfortunately, are not.  I would say I miss them, but with a little creativity and an acorn or butternut squash, you can have a delicious alternative that is much healthier, and I might even say it tastes better!

I’ve made a variety of baked “french fries” out of squash (which I will share at some point), but my favorite so far is definitely Butternut Squash Hash.

I make just one serving at a time, but if you want to double or triple this, it would definitely be an easy thing to do.  I start with taking a medium-size butternut squash and cutting it in half (lengthwise).  I usually store one half in a ziplock bag in the fridge – saving it to roast for muffins or any other variety of squash recipes.  I take the remaining half, scrape out all of the seeds and then peel the skin off.  I chop it into large chunks and then feed it through my food processor using the shredder blade.  It ends up looking like this (this image is just 1 cup of the huge amount that it will shred into):

From there, take a handful of the shredded squash and pack into a 1 c. measuring cup.  You want to get all of the moisture out before you cook it, so grab a few paper towels, place the shredded squash between them and press out all of the juice.  Do this as many times as necessary until it’s pretty dry (if I use a doubled-up paper towel it typically only takes one good press).  Now the recipe:

1 c. shredded squash (juice pressed out)

1/2 t. onion flakes (you could also use about 1/4 c. or so of diced onions. I didn’t have any on hand and the onion flakes worked great)

1/4 t. garlic powder

1/4 t. onion powder

dash of cumin

salt & pepper to taste

In a medium bowl combine the shredded squash and all spices, stirring until evenly coated.  Place a small saute pan on high heat and drizzle with a light coating of olive oil.  Once it has heated up, add in squash mixture.  Pat down into pan and wait about 1-2 minutes, then begin lightly “flipping” the mixture with a spatula or wooden spoon.  It should only take a total of 4-5 minutes for the mixture to be fully cooked.  In the end, it will look like this:

SO GOOD! Hope you get a chance to try it out!  It would be great with baked apples or bacon added in as well.  If you think of other variations, I’d love to hear them!

