Pumpkin Spice Muffins

When the temperature drops and the leaves begin to change color it makes me want to go camping, sit around a bonfire, bundle up at the drive-in…and bake.  I’ve always been a bit of a cinnamon junky and one of my favorite ways to bring the smell into my home is through baking apple pies, simmering cider on the stove and baking anything and everything that has “pumpkin” in the recipe title.

The recipe I’m going to share with you definitely goes into my “all time favorites” category.  I can honestly say that even if I wasn’t eating grain and sugar-free, I would still make this recipe over any other.  It’s the perfect consistency (not the least bit dry) and warms up just as if it was fresh out of the oven.

1/2 c. pumpkin puree (or squash – I’ve used both and they are equally delicious)
1/4 c. honey
1/4 c. coconut oil
2 eggs
1 1/2 t. vanilla
2 1/2 c. blanched almond flour (I buy mine in bulk from Honeyville)
1/2 t. baking soda
1/4 t. salt
2 t. cinnamon
1/2 t. nutmeg
1/4 t. cloves
1/4 t. ginger

Combine pumpkin or squash, honey, oil, eggs and vanilla in medium size bowl.  Add in dry ingredients and mix until well blended.  Line muffin tin with tinfoil muffin liners (I don’t use any other kind. I believe it’s a key factor in getting the perfect consistency as your oil does not absorb into the wrapper but rather stays fully in the muffin.  Also want to make note that the paper liners between each tinfoil liner are only meant to keep them from sticking together. Either set them aside for later use as paper liners or toss them.).  I use an ice cream scoop to evenly distribute the batter between all 12 muffin liners, but a spoon would work just as well.  Bake at 325 for 25 minutes (that’s the perfect time on my oven, but you may want to start with 20 and check periodically from there).

Serve with honey and enjoy!!

