Coconut Crusted Chicken

I know I really should start with the Intro Diet recipes, but honestly, they’re not picture worthy nor very exciting to eat.  I’m going to just share recipes that are now a part of my daily eating after having finished all of the phases.  If you have any questions on the intro phases don’t hesitate to ask –  I would be more than happy to answer.

This was probably one of the first recipes I made that I got pretty excited about.  It felt like normal food.  That’s kind of the challenge of it all anyway – I like thinking of things that I used to eat and ways that I can adapt them to fit into my new lifestyle.  I really believe that children and adults alike would love this recipe and it’s rewarding to know that it’s not only delicious – it’s nutritious!

Coconut Crusted Chicken with Honey Dijon Dipping Sauce

Preheat oven to 375.  Start with 1 lb. of chicken breast cut into strips and 3 shallow dishes.

Dish 1 (mix together):

1/4 c. coconut flour

1/2 t. finely ground sea salt

1/8 t. ground pepper

1/4 t. garlic powder

1/4 t. onion powder

1/4 t. ground mustard

Dish 2:

1/4 – 1/2 c. olive oil (I just start with 1/4 and add as I run out)

Dish 3:

1 c. unsweetened shredded coconut

Honey Dijon Dipping Sauce:

Dijon mustard & Honey mixed together to taste (I like to add a little lemon juice, garlic and cider vinegar to mine – but it’s all based on preference)

Line baking sheet with tinfoil or parchment.  Dip chicken strips into mixture 1 and coat evenly. Dip into oil and shake off excess before dipping into dish 3 and pressing coconut into chicken. Place on baking sheet and bake for 10 minutes, pull out of oven and flip each strip over before baking 10 more minutes.  Turn oven onto broil and watch carefully for 3-6 minutes until all strips are perfectly browned.

